Arts & Crafts, DIY, Homemade, Repurpose

I Dropped the Photo Frame – Upcycle

The title really says it all. I trusted a precarious position on the shelf and it proved to be a bad idea. The frame was cheap, one that I had picked up from a thrift store to help decorate my college apartment. IMG_3548

Before throwing anything like this away I always think “can I fix this? Or use this for another purpose?” The hard plastic of the frame was a goner, and I didn’t know how to repurpose it. The glass however became reborn. With a metallic felt marker and a quick browse through my favorite poet’s Instagram, I was set to create a customized glass vanity tray.

Literally as easy as 1…2…3:

  1. Get the Glass
    Separate glass from broken frame and clean with rubbing alcohol (or anything that will remove the oils and dust on the glass).
  2. Decorate the Glass
    Use a permanent marker or paint to decorate as you like. IMG_3821
  3. Use Your New Glass Tray
    Once the ink/paint has dried, begin to put things on the tray – it can be as decorative or practical as you like!

If you need some creative inspiration for your tray, there are plenty of patterns you can mimic from the web.

Something I didn’t do, but you can if you’re worried about the ink/paint deteriorating from use is give the tray a spray of Polyurethane acrylic coating or a brush of Mod Podge. Let the sealer dry thoroughly before using the tray.

Hope this post sparked some inspiration!

 

Leave a comment